Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Literature Criticism

Ask a Librarian
Hours:
Monday - Thursday  8 am - 9 pm
Friday  8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org

 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
GVRL -- Literature Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Reference books that include critical overviews and information on works of literature and writers.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
Google Scholar Some full text available
Searches for scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
US Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of U.S. and international news sources, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor. Includes full text access to the Star Tribune. A good place to research local topics and current events.
note: 1980 - present

  Find Books and eBooks

MnPALS Plus -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Print Reference Sources

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Print Location: REF PN771 .C58
Find excerpted works of criticism and literary biography here. This source covers current novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, scriptwriters, and other creative writers. Vols. 1-287, see Circulation Desk. Library use only.
note: Vols. 1-287
Gale Literary Index
Use this tool to find which volumes have information on your literary work.  The tool refers to print volumes found in our library.
Poetry Criticism
Print Location: REF PN1010 .P499
The Poetry Criticism series provides biographical sketches, plentiful excerpted criticism, and primary source lists for major poets from all eras and countries. Vols. 1-100, see Circulation Desk, Library use only.
note: 1991 - 2011
Poetry for Students Some full text available Resource contains audio
Each entry in this series contains the full text of the poem, a line-by-line discussion and summary of themes, historical context, plentiful excerpted criticism, and more.
Print vols. 1-40 available in the IHCC Library Reference area:
PN1101.P64
Short Stories for Students Restricted Resource Some full text available
Overviews and criticism of commonly studied short stories. Includes author biography, plot summary, characters, themes, style, historical and cultural context, critical overview, and criticism.
Print volumes 1 - 34 also available in the Library, call number:
REF PN3373.S3845
Short Story Criticism
Print Location: REF PN3321 .S56
The Short Story Criticism series provides biographical sketches and excerpts of literary criticism for major short story writers from various cultures and time periods. Vols. 1-125, see Circulation Desk. Library use only.
note: Vols. 1-125

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.

  Research and Writing Assistance

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
OWL Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Find free online citation style guides, writing and research guides, and more at this site.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.


Powered by SubjectsPlus