Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Ask A Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

Britannica Online - Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of the Encyclopædia Britannica includes articles, country statistics, a country comparison tool, maps, video clips, and more.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
GVRL -- History Electronic Reference Books Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online library of electronic reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Features non-mainstream sources such as The Village Voice, Dissent, and Against the Current.
note: 1970 - present
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
MegaFILE (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
MegaFILE combines Ebsco's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases into one search.
note: Updated daily.

  Primary sources

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub Some full text available
A searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that contains hundreds of newspapers from cities and counties across the state of Minnesota, spanning the years 1856 - 1922.

  Find Books and eBooks

Ebsco eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 11,000 full-text books in all subjects. You will need to create an account to download books.
MnPALS Plus -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Websites

Minnesota Historical Society Resource contains images
Website of the Minnesota Historical Society (MHS). Contains links to its library’s resources and a visual resources database with over 180,000 images from the MHS collections.

  Research and Writing Assistance

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
APA Cover Page Tutorial - Alternate Setup Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A short demonstration of how to create an alternative cover page in APA.


Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Works Cited Guidelines for MLA/APA Format
Created for Inver Hills Community College, this handout gives citing guidelines and examples for the library's most commonly cited resources in both MLA and APA formats.
How to Search a Database
New Books





Powered by SubjectsPlus