Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Criminal Justice

New Books

 
All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Covers current issues and controversial subjects. Each full-text weekly report is written by an experienced journalist and contains an overview of the topic, current outlook, pros and cons, a bibliography, and more.
note: 1923 - present
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.

Proquest Criminal Justice Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for student researchers and professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Includes American Journal of Criminal Justice and FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin.
note: 1981 - present
ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Provides fulltext articles to 60 APA peer-reviewed journals.  1864 - present.  May need to use Chrome or Firefox browser for best results.

  Find Books and eBooks

Ebsco eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 11,000 full-text books in all subjects. You will need to create an account to download books.
MnPALS Plus -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Websites

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Government website for comprehensive statistics on crime, justice, and corrections.
NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Government website with links to statistics, articles, and full-text publications on a variety of criminal justice subjects.
World Prison Brief
Free online database with access to prison systems around the world.

  Research and Writing Assistance

5 Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
This is good checklist of questions to ask when critically evaluating Web sources, from Cornell University Library.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
APA Cover Page Tutorial - Alternate Setup Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A short demonstration of how to create an alternative cover page in APA.


APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Online Writing Lab)
This award-winning documentation site provides guidelines and samples for the APA citation style.
Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.
Using OWL for APA citations
APA Cover Page


Powered by SubjectsPlus