Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Ask a Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

How to Search a Database
New Books
All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Best Bets for Business Research

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text articles from business publications, company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Includes full-text articles from business publications, some are peer-reviewed. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, and company profiles.
GVRL -- Business Reference Books Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Background information on various aspects of business, includes the Encyclopdia of Emerging Markets, the Handbook of Social Media Marketing, and more.

  Find Background Information

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of U.S. and international news sources, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor. Includes full text access to the Star Tribune. A good place to research local topics and current events.
note: 1980 - present
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional U.S. business journals, newspapers, and newswires.
note: Updated daily
Wall Street Journal
Print Location: For in-library use only; ask at the circulation desk.
Library holds the current 2 weeks of Wall Street Journal.

  Find Books and eBooks

Ebsco eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 11,000 full-text books in all subjects. You will need to create an account to download books.
MnPALS Plus -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Print Reference Sources

Guide to Starting a Business in Minnesota
Print Location: REF HF5065.M6 G84 2014

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.

  Statistics and data

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Website of the Federal government agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Their economic information supports public and private decision-making.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Some full text available
National data book produced by the U. S. Census Bureau. Includes economic statistics.

  Websites

AnnualReports.com
Find annual reports for thousands of leading companies here.
Business.com
Business.com is a search engine and directory that provides easy access to business products, services, companies, news and other business information.
Corporate Information
Source for global corporate information on the leading companies in over 55 countries. Search by company, country, industry, and more. Offers snapshot information, full reports for subcribers only.
DEED: Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
State of Minnesota site, offers information on starting and managing a business, also contains business guidebooks for companies that are doing business in Minnesota and operating under Minnesota laws and regulations.
James J. Hill Library
Privately-funded business library in downtown St. Paul, offers reference services online and in-person. Specialized research sources are available in the library, some resources are fee-based.
NAICS Code Search
Search for the NAICS by using industry keywords or titles. Free service provided by the NAICS Association.
SBA: U.S. Small Business Administration Some full text available Resource contains images
Information on creating a business plan and marketing plan, includes related articles.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Some full text available
National data book produced by the U. S. Census Bureau. Includes economic statistics.
World Business Culture Some full text available
This website contains current information on Business Culture for 39 countries.

  Research and Writing Assistance

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Online Writing Lab)
This award-winning documentation site provides guidelines and samples for the APA citation style.
Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.


Powered by SubjectsPlus