Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

English 1108 -- Higgins

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Covers current issues and controversial subjects. Each full-text weekly report is written by an experienced journalist and contains an overview of the topic, current outlook, pros and cons, a bibliography, and more.
note: 1923 - present
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Features non-mainstream sources such as The Village Voice, Dissent, and Against the Current.
note: 1970 - present
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
Google Scholar Some full text available
Searches for scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.

  Find Books and eBooks

Library Catalog
Search the collection of print books in the IHCC catalog for your country. Type your country name in the search box; to the right, limit by topic; limit format to "printed book" and "non-fiction.

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.

  Research and Writing Assistance

Library Research Tutorial
Self-paced tutorial on how to use Inver Hills Library online resources.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.
Choosing a Topic

This video was created by the North Carolina State University Library.


Powered by SubjectsPlus