Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

AskA Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org

 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

New Books -- Engineering

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

efunda Some full text available
Online reference source where the engineering community can quickly find concise and reliable information on the fundamentals of engineering. Contains all original content.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
General Science Collection (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 600 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.

Google Scholar Some full text available
Searches for scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
GreenFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This comprehensive resource draws on the connection between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.  Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
IEEE Spectrum -- Print
Print Location: Periodicals
Journal of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Print copies in the periodical area of the IHCC Library. February 2011 - current.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.

  Online Magazines and Journals

MIT Technology Review Some full text available Resource contains images
Magazine published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, explores new technologies and their impact.
Popular Science Some full text available Resource contains images
Magazine that reports on what's new and in technology, science, gadgets, space, and more.

  Material Property Data

MatWeb: Material Property Data Some full text available
Searchable databse of material properties contains data sheets for over 105,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
NIST: National Institute of Standards and Technology Some full text available Resource contains images
Website of the federal technology agency that works with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards.

  Professional Association Websites

AIAA Resource contains images

The official site of The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.


AIChE Some full text available
Website of The American Institute of Chemical Engineers, geared towards advancing the practice and theory of Chemical Engineering Offers free access to the magazine Chemical Engineering Progress. Contains content that's of interest to mechanical engineers as well.
 
ASEE Some full text available Resource contains images
Official site of the American Society for Engineering Education, promotes furthering education in engineering and engineering technology. This site also features ASEE's popular magazine, Prism, available full-text.
ASME Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Website of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Offers  articles, standards, conference proceedings and much more for mechanical engineers and other technical professionals.
IEEE Spectrum -- Website Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Official site of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, promotes the advancement of technology.
SAE International Some full text available Resource contains images
The ultimate knowledge source for mobility engineering.

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Websites

CTI: Compatible Technology International Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Website of Compatible Technology International (CTI), a nonprofit that designs and distributes tools in collaboration with small farmers and their communities to improve food and water security in developing countries.
DTIC Resource contains images
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the Department of Defense (DoD) community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
Instructables - DIY How To Make Instructions Some full text available Resource contains images
Website specializing in user-created and uploaded do-it-yourself projects, lets you explore, document and share your creations.
KMODDL Some full text available Resource contains images
The Kinematic Models for Design Digital Library (KMODDL) is Cornell University's open access, multimedia resource for learning and teaching about kinematics – the geometry of pure motion – and the history and theory of machines.
Lemelson-MIT Some full text available Resource contains images
The Lemelson-MIT Program celebrates outstanding inventors and inspires young people to pursue creative lives and careers through invention.

  Research and Writing Assistance

Writing and Speaking Guidelines for Engineering Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Offers writing guidelines designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work. Contains models for writing documents in engineering and science.


Powered by SubjectsPlus