Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Emergency Medical Services

Ask A Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.
Pain Management : Evidence-Based Tools and Techniques for Nursing Professionals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers all aspects of pain assessment and reassessment, including pain scales for a variety of patient populations. Includes case studies and practice exercises, empowering responders to critically think through their efforts to manage pain.
note: GVRL title.
Truven Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Access to healthcare and disease information. Also includes PDR, formulary, and alternative medicine information.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on complementary, holistic, and alternative medicine.
note: Indexed 1984 - present, fulltext from 1990 - present
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 1300 full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus indexing to 5000 more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
EMJ: Emergency Medicine Journal
A bimonthly international, peer-reviewed journal for health professionals and researchers, covering all aspects of emergency medicine.
note: 2001 - present
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly full text journal articles and LexiPAL Drug Guide.
Nursing Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Access diagnosis and drug information as well as patient care plans and academic journal articles.
ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Provides fulltext articles to 60 APA peer-reviewed journals.  1864 - present.  May need to use Chrome or Firefox browser for best results.

  Find Books and eBooks

MnPALS Plus -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.

  Websites

Medline Plus - Health Information Some full text available Resource contains images
Find credible health information from trusted sources on this site, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.  It offers overviews of diseases and conditions, drug information, a medical encyclopedia, and more.
New York Times - Science
Free full text articles on Science and Health from a trusted source.
PubMed
This site provides access to citations and some full-text in the National Library of Medicine's comprehensive MEDLINE database of biomedical journals. Non full-text articles can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

  Research and Writing Assistance

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.

  Practice Exams

Learning Express Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams for academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, plus college and career skill-building exercises.
Using OWL for APA citations
APA Cover Page
Practice Exam Database
Includes EMS practice exams.


Powered by SubjectsPlus