Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Communication

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Covers current issues and controversial subjects. Each full-text weekly report is written by an experienced journalist and contains an overview of the topic, current outlook, pros and cons, a bibliography, and more.
note: 1923 - present
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Features non-mainstream sources such as The Village Voice, Dissent, and Against the Current.
note: 1970 - present
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 1300 full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus indexing to 5000 more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This multidisciplinary database contains full-text articles from general interest publications covering a variety of subject areas. It also includes a collection of reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and images.
note: Updated daily.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Find overviews, point, counterpoint, and full-text magazine articles on current issues and controversial topics.
Proquest Criminal Justice Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for student researchers and professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Includes American Journal of Criminal Justice and FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin.
note: 1981 - present
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of U.S. and international news sources, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor. Includes full text access to the Star Tribune. A good place to research local topics and current events.
note: 1980 - present
ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Websites

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and over 2000 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
World Business Culture Some full text available
This website contains current information on Business Culture for 39 countries.

  Research and Writing Assistance

5 Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
This is good checklist of questions to ask when critically evaluating Web sources, from Cornell University Library.
Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
OWL Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Find free online citation style guides, writing and research guides, and more at this site.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.
Choosing a Topic

This video was created by the North Carolina State University Library.
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Ask A Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
 
Chat with a Librarian
Research assistance by instant message, email or phone is available only during library hours.
If we are offline, please leave  your question and your contact information in the chatbox or email the librarian directly.

 
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.


Powered by SubjectsPlus