Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Article Database

Ask a Librarian
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org

 
Chat with a Librarian
Research assistance by instant message, email or phone is available only during library hours.
If we are offline, please leave  your question and your contact information in the chatbox or email the librarian directly.

 
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Article Databases

Image result for ebsco search box builder‚Äč

An Article Database

Article databases (also called periodical article indexes) always include the citations of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Most of the article databases that the library subscribes to contain millions of full text articles, and sometimes the entire content as they originally appeared in the periodical. And, almost all the databases create an MLA or APA citation. Using an article database to find full-text articles on a topic is much easier than paging through periodicals by hand.

Online article indexes, purchased by the Inver Hills Community College library, are accessible from the library Web site, as well as through off campus Proxy authentication.  Login to the databases using your StarID and password or the 14-digit library barcode (on the back of your student ID) and your last name.

Use an Article Database

  • when you want to find articles on your topic in magazines, journals or newspapers

Examples of Article Databases

  • Academic Search Premier (a general and scholarly article database)
  • CINAHL (an article database of the nursing and allied health professions)
  • Lexis Nexis (a newspaper, legal, and business article database)
Definitions
Periodical

Publications which are issued at least twice a year, including journals, magazines, and newspapers are called periodicals. "Current periodicals" are those which have recently arrived. In the IHCC Library they are on open shelves near the front windows. Back issues of periodicals are shelved behind the Circulation Desk, and can be checked out for 7 days.


Citation
Identify published information in order to locate that item again. Citations of articles often include the author, title, magazine or journal name, page numbers and publication information. Citations of Web documents also include a URL and the day the information was accessed.

The list of the sources you used when researching your paper is called a bibliography. These sources are listed in citation format and follow an established style, such as MLA (Modern Language Association), APA (American Psychological Association) or Chicago Manual of Style. The bibliography allows others who read your work to verify facts or research the same information more easily.


Powered by SubjectsPlus